Freshman Academic Scholarships

Academic scholarships are based upon the applicant’s academic performance, not the family’s income. TCU recognizes and rewards outstanding scholarly achievement through academic merit scholarships. These awards are competitive and are based on a number of objective and subjective criteria such as class rank, the strength of curriculum, counselor and teacher recommendations, standardized test scores, essay, and co-curricular activities.

The Application for Undergraduate Admission also serves as the Application for Academic Scholarships.  Freshman scholarship recipients will be notified at the time of admission, or shortly thereafter. Renewal is based on the successful completion of at least 24 hours in the academic year (fall and spring semesters). A 3.0 cumulative GPA is required at the conclusion of the freshman year and a 3.25 cumulative GPA is required in subsequent years.

TCU Freshman Academic Scholarships

ScholarshipYearly ValueDuration
Chancellor's ScholarshipFull tuition & feesUp to 8 semesters of undergraduate coursework
Dean's Scholarship$21,000.00Up to 8 semesters of undergraduate coursework
Faculty Scholarship$18,000.00Up to 8 semesters of undergraduate coursework
TCU Scholarship$14,000.00Up to 8 semesters of undergraduate coursework
Founder's Scholarship$10,000.00Up to 8 semesters of undergraduate coursework

What is the process for the Chancellor’s Scholarship Award?

The Chancellor’s Scholarship is TCU’s most competitive merit award and includes full tuition for eight semesters. Students who are selected to compete for a Chancellor’s Scholarship will be invited to participate in an interview weekend, which usually takes place in February. For this reason, students who believe they may be eligible for the Chancellor’s Scholarship are highly encouraged to apply Early Action or shortly thereafter. While all applicants are considered for a scholarship, those who apply after the Chancellor’s Scholarship selection process has ended will not be considered for this prestigious award.